Jobber vs Joist vs QuoteIron (2026): which fits a one-person trade shop?

Short answer

If you work alone and price jobs by the job, QuoteIron fits best; if you run a crew, Jobber does; if you want plain estimates and invoices, Joist does. QuoteIron is free for 5 jobs a month, and Pro is $15.99 a month for unlimited jobs, text and email reminders, scheduling and card payments.

Joist Basics is $10 a month and stops at 5 documents a month. Jobber starts at $49 a month for Core ($29 billed annually), and its Connect plan with automatic follow-ups is $139 ($99 annual).

We make QuoteIron, so we link every competitor price to its own pricing page. Prices checked 3 October 2026.

Full disclosure: we build QuoteIron. Priced like for like, QuoteIron Pro costs about $1,000 a year less than the Jobber and Joist plans that match it. Competitor prices checked 3 October 2026.

Pick your app in 10 seconds

  • Solo, and you want fast quotes (about $1,000 a year less than the matching Jobber or Joist plan)QuoteIron
  • Running a crewJobber
  • Just need simple invoicesJoist
Handyman standing by a pickup truck in a driveway holding a phone and a coffee, tools in the truck bed
Crew platform, plain invoicer, or built for one person: three different bets.

Key takeaways

  • Solo and pricing by the job: QuoteIron fits best; running a crew: Jobber; plain estimates and invoices: Joist.
  • QuoteIron is free for 5 jobs a month; Pro is $15.99 a month for unlimited jobs, reminders, scheduling and card payments.
  • Joist Basics is $10 a month and stops at 5 documents; Jobber Core is $49 ($29 annual); Connect, with automatic follow-ups, is $139 ($99 annual).
  • Priced like for like, QuoteIron Pro costs about $1,000 a year less than the matching Jobber and Joist plans. Prices checked 3 October 2026.

Related: Jobber alternative for a one-person shop · QuoteIron vs Joist: what each one charges for · Jobber vs Housecall Pro for a one-person shop

The customer is standing in his own garage with his arms folded, looking from you to the open electrical panel and back. “So,” he says, “how much?” You have maybe five minutes of his patience, a phone with two bars, and a price that so far lives only in your head.

Illustration: a contractor in a navy work polo stands upright in a customer's garage, holding a multimeter beside an open electrical panel.
The question every quote turns on starts here: an open panel, a steady hand, and a number you will soon have to say out loud. Illustration: QuoteIron

Full disclosure: we build QuoteIron. We still tried to give Jobber and Joist a fair shake, and where they beat us, we say so. Think of this as three apps looked at the way a one-person shop would use them, written by the people with a horse in the race. Prices come from each company's own pricing page, checked 3 October 2026, and we link them so you can check us.

The short version: these three apps are aimed at different people. Jobber wants to run your whole crew. Joist is the simple one: plain estimates and invoices. QuoteIron is built for one person who prices jobs by the job, and it packs the features of the pricier plans into $15.99 a month: a ready-made price book, card payments, scheduling, customer reminders and Spanish, with 5 jobs a month free. Priced like for like, QuoteIron Pro runs about $1,000 a year less than the Jobber and Joist plans that match it (the numbers are drawn below). Which one is "best" depends on which of those three people you are.

How we compared

We read each company's published pricing page and feature pages on 3 October 2026 and took the numbers from there. We also walked through the same panel-swap quote in QuoteIron. We did not time quotes in Jobber or Joist, and where their pages don't say something (offline use, for example), we say so instead of guessing.

The three apps side by side

Prices last checked: 3 October 2026, from Jobber’s pricing page, Joist’s pricing page and QuoteIron’s own site.

Plan prices and features for a one-person trade shop: QuoteIron, Jobber and Joist
What you getQuoteIronJobberJoist
Cheapest paid plan, per monthPro: $15.99 ($159.99 a year)Core: $49, or $29 billed annually (1 user)Basics: $10 (up to 5 documents a month); Pro: $17, unlimited
Plan with scheduling and automatic remindersPro: $15.99Connect: $139 ($99 annual)Run: $100 list, $70 introductory; scheduling listed, automatic text reminders not listed
Free planYes: 5 jobs a month, no cardNo: 14-day trialNo: 14-day trial, no card
Quotes and invoices5 jobs a month free; unlimited on ProQuotes on Core; invoices on every planBasics: 5 documents a month; Pro: unlimited
Automatic text (SMS) remindersPro: up to 50 texts a month (email reminders on every plan)Connect and up, not CoreNot listed
SchedulingYes: day, week and month viewsYes, from CoreRun plan only
Card processing fee2.9% + 30¢ through your own Stripe account, Pro plan, no QuoteIron fee2.9% + 30¢ (pricing page)3.49% + 49¢ (payments page)
Ready-made price bookYes: 1050+ job templates that price from your ratesNot listed; a products and services list you build yourselfNot listed on its pricing page
Offline use and where it runsWorks with no signal; iPhone, iPad and Android, no browser versionOffline use not stated on its pricing pageOffline use not stated on its pricing page

This table says the same thing as the checkmark chart further down. “Not listed” means the company’s own page doesn’t say either way, not that it is missing. We make QuoteIron.

Cheapest paid plan per month: QuoteIron, Joist, JobberQuoteIron Pro $15.99. Joist Basics $10 (up to 5 documents), Joist Pro $17 (unlimited). Jobber Core $49 ($29 billed annually), Connect $139 ($99 annual).QuoteIron Prounlimited$15.99Joist Basics5 documents$10Joist Prounlimited$17Jobber Core$29 annual$49Jobber Connect$99 annual$139
Cheapest paid plans per month as listed on each pricing page, checked 3 October 2026 (month-to-month). Joist Basics stops at 5 documents a month.

Quoting a job: how do the three apps compare?

Picture it. You're standing in a customer's garage and they ask what it'll cost to swap the panel. You've got maybe five minutes of their patience and a phone with two bars, if you're lucky. Here's what each app makes you do next.

Jobber will happily take the quote. Quotes are right there on its Core plan. But the prices come from a products and services list that you type in yourself. That's fine if you've been in the app for a year and built the list up. On day one it's a blank page, and you're the one filling it in, usually at the kitchen table at 9pm. It's a good list once it exists. It just doesn't exist until you make it.

Joist is the simple one. It doesn't try to be a crew platform, and for plain estimates that's a plus. What we couldn't find on its pricing page is any mention of a price book, so assume you're typing line items in as you go. The other thing to know is that Basics, the $10 plan, stops at 5 documents a month. A busy week and you're upgrading.

QuoteIron is the one we built, so here's the pitch plainly. You tell it three numbers once: your hourly labor rate, your parts markup, and your service-call fee. It also handles rounding and sales tax. Then it has 1050+ job templates (panel swap, water heater, the usual) that price themselves from those numbers. In the garage, you find the job, tweak it, and send it. That's about 90 seconds from a phone (our own timing, not an independent one). It also works with no signal, so basements and crawlspaces are no problem. And when you raise your labor rate, the whole book reprices itself instead of you editing 200 lines.

Illustration: a contractor in an olive canvas work jacket checks his phone in front of a framed home addition on a residential street.
Pricing from the phone, between measurements, with no kitchen-table session waiting at 9pm. Illustration: QuoteIron
QuoteIron Jobs screen on iPhone showing 89% won and a Needs You list of estimates to follow up and past-due invoices with Remind buttons
This is the screen you open in the morning: who still owes you and which estimates need a nudge.
QuoteIron Book screen on iPhone listing jobs priced at $95 an hour labor and 30 percent parts markup, with Electrical and Handyman trades
The price book, sorted by trade, so you're not hunting for the job.
QuoteIron estimate on iPhone for a recessed-lighting job, with a client card and priced lines from the book
An estimate prices itself off your rates: pick the job from the book, tweak it, send it.
QuoteIron client card on iPhone for a sample customer showing call, text, email and directions buttons, the amount owed, phone, email, job address and notes
A client card: one-tap call, text and directions, what they owe, and your notes.

One thing to know: QuoteIron lives on iPhone, iPad and Android, with no browser version. Jobber and Joist are bigger, older companies, and we're the newer, smaller one.

Joist vs Jobber pricing: getting paid and card fees

Say the job's done and it's a $1,000 invoice. Here's what a customer paying by card costs you, straight from each company's pricing page.

On Jobber it's 2.9% plus 30 cents, so $29.30. QuoteIron is the same 2.9% plus 30 cents, because the money goes through your own Stripe account at Stripe's standard rate and we don't add anything on top. Also $29.30. Joist charges 3.49% plus 49 cents (its payments page), which comes to $35.39. That's about six bucks more per thousand. Not a disaster, but it adds up if you invoice a lot.

If the customer pays by bank transfer, it's cheaper everywhere: Jobber lists 1%, and Joist lists 1% capped at $15, so $10 on a $1,000 job.

One catch on our side: card payments in QuoteIron need the Pro plan, and there's no tap-to-pay in person yet. Joist lists Tap to Pay, plus homeowner financing, which is handy if you do big jobs where the customer wants to spread it out. We don't have either of those.

On the invoice itself, QuoteIron turns a won quote into an invoice in one tap, and handles partial payments, change orders and receipts. Jobber invoices on every plan and adds automatic follow-up reminders once you reach Connect. Joist goes from estimate to invoice easily, with change orders arriving on its Elite plan.

QuoteIron also chases the money for you. With reminders on, it emails your customer about an open quote or an unpaid invoice on every plan, free included. On Pro it adds a fuller schedule and optional texts from QuoteIron’s number: up to three about an open quote, and for an invoice, one when it’s due and then about one a week until it’s paid. The fine print: texts are capped at 50 a month per account on Pro, and once you hit that, the email reminders keep going. Jobber does this too, but its automated quote and invoice follow-ups start at Connect, not Core.

Illustration: a contractor in a pressed check shirt holds his phone while a smiling homeowner signs on its screen with her finger.
Sign it right there on his phone: the quote is accepted before he leaves the porch. Illustration: QuoteIron

Is Jobber worth it for a one-person business? Scheduling and crews

If you run a crew, Jobber is the right tool, full stop. Scheduling, dispatch and client management are its product, not extras: a tech at the 10am, another at the 1pm, a shared calendar, texting with customers, a QuickBooks Online sync, a marketplace of 100+ apps. Pay for that if you use it.

QuoteIron is built for one person's week: a day, week and month schedule, Directions on every job and client card, and an "On My Way" text to your next customer. No dispatch, no routing, no crew GPS, and no QuickBooks sync yet (you can export an income CSV, and IronTally, our bookkeeping companion app, is coming soon).

Joist is in between, in an awkward way. "Schedule visits" only shows up on its Run plan, which is $70 introductory and $100 at list price. That's a big jump from the $10 starter plan.

Jobber alternatives for solo contractors: what each plan costs

Jobber's Core plan is $49 a month for one user, or $29 a month if you pay for the year. Step up to Connect and it's $139 a month ($99 annual); Grow is $199 ($149 annual). Extra users were $29 a month each when we last checked, though we haven't re-verified that one. It's a fair price for what you get if you use all of it. If you're a solo guy using it for quotes and invoices, you're paying for a lot of crew tools you won't touch.

Joist's Basics plan is $10 a month ($8.34 on annual billing) for up to 5 documents a month. QuoteIron gives you 5 jobs a month for $0. Pro is $17 a month ($14.17 annual) and removes the cap. Elite is $32 ($26.67), and Run, the scheduling one, is $100 list, $70 as an introductory price. There's also a 14-day trial with no card.

QuoteIron is free for 5 jobs a month with no card. Pro is $15.99 a month, or $159.99 a year, flat, with no seats to count. So Joist's Pro, at $17, is about a buck more than ours, and Jobber is where the real money difference lives.

What else is in the box

Send a quote as good, better and best options, and the customer taps the one they want; the invoice collapses to their pick. Attach up to six job photos. Take a signature on the spot, or share the quote and watch it flip to Won when the customer approves. Set a deposit percentage on the invoice for money up front, and add a change order when the job grows. Documents go out in English or Spanish, set once per client, whatever language you work in. “On My Way” opens a text to your next customer in your own Messages (you send it), a booked job drops onto any calendar, and a paid invoice gets a ready-made review request. Coming from another app, import the CSV from Jobber, Housecall Pro, Square or QuickBooks, and your client list and price book come across. Encrypted cloud backup switches on by itself.

So which one should you use: Jobber, Joist or QuoteIron?

Use QuoteIron if you work alone, you price jobs by the job, you sometimes work where there's no signal, or your customers read Spanish (the whole app and every template is in English and Spanish). Try the free plan on one real job before you pay anything.

Use Jobber if you have a crew or you're about to. Jobber's own app is in Spanish for team members but not for admins and account owners. If price is the only reason you're looking, check first whether you use what you're paying for. We've got a page on switching from Jobber and one on cancelling it cleanly.

Use Joist if you want the simple one and your needs are plain. It sends clean estimates and invoices, and it has financing for the big jobs. On money, QuoteIron gives you the same 5 a month free where Joist Basics charges $10, and Joist's card fee is the highest of the three. We go deeper on the two of us in QuoteIron vs Joist.

And if you want to see the money side at a glance, here's what each one costs to start:

Jobber, $49 a month ($29 on annual). Joist, $10 a month for 5 documents, $17 for unlimited. QuoteIron, $0 for those same 5 jobs a month, then $15.99 for unlimited.

Illustration: a contractor in a rolled-sleeve denim work shirt reviews a quote on his phone from the driver's seat of his pickup.
Reviewing the numbers in the truck before the quote goes out. Illustration: QuoteIron

Priced like for like

Prices last checked 3 October 2026; plain-text version in the table near the top of this page.

The plans that match QuoteIron Pro: scheduling, automatic reminders and e-signature on each app’s own pricing page.

QuoteIron ProJobber ConnectJoist Run
Scheduling✓✓✓
Automatic text reminders✓✓–
Automatic email reminders✓✓–
E-signature✓✓✓
Ready-made price book✓––
Good / better / best options✓––
Deposits✓✓✓
Change orders✓–✓
Spanish documents for customers✓––
Free plan✓✗✗
A year$192$1,188$840

Key. ✓ listed on the plan; ✗ their own pages confirm it is absent; – not listed, so we can’t say either way. Checked 3 October 2026 against each company’s own pages (Jobber pricing, Jobber help, Joist pricing, Joist features) and QuoteIron’s own pricing, help, FAQ and terms. Joist lists automatic payment reminders but names neither the channel nor the plan; Jobber lists optional line items as add-ons, which is not the same as good, better and best tiers. Both offer a 14-day trial, not a free plan.

The math. Twelve months of plan: QuoteIron Pro $15.99 × 12 = $191.88; Jobber Connect $99 × 12 = $1,188 billed annually ($139 × 12 = $1,668 monthly); Joist Run $70 introductory × 12 = $840 ($100 list × 12 = $1,200). Card fees come on top: on $60,000 a year in 240 payments, 2.9% + $0.30 per payment is $1,812 on Jobber and on QuoteIron (through your own Stripe account, no QuoteIron fee), and 3.49% + $0.49 is $2,211.60 on Joist. Jobber Core ($29 × 12 = $348) and Joist Pro ($17 × 12 = $204) are cheaper but lack the automatic reminders or scheduling.

A few quick questions

Is there a good Jobber alternative for one person?

Yes, if you mostly quote, invoice and book your own work. Jobber's cheapest plan is Core at $49 a month, or $29 a month billed annually, for one user (Jobber pricing page, checked 2026-10-03). QuoteIron is free for 5 jobs a month (Joist Basics charges $10 for 5 documents), then $15.99 a month for unlimited. What you give up is the crew side: no dispatch, no team scheduling, no CRM automations. If you've got techs to assign, stay with Jobber.

What is the best Joist alternative?

Depends why you're leaving. If the five-document cap on Basics ($10 a month) is what's bugging you, QuoteIron's free plan covers the same 5 jobs a month for $0 and Pro is unlimited at $15.99. If you want a flat-rate price book, offline use or Spanish, those are things QuoteIron has and Joist's pricing page doesn't mention. If you want homeowner financing or an AI receptionist, Joist has those and we don't.

Which app has the lowest card processing fees?

Jobber and QuoteIron both come in at 2.9% plus 30 cents on a domestic card. QuoteIron's rate is Stripe's standard one and we add nothing. Joist lists 3.49% plus 49 cents (Joist payments page, 2026-10-03). On a $1,000 invoice that's $29.30 versus $35.39. Jobber and QuoteIron tie on cards, so the difference between them is the monthly price of the software.

Does Joist work offline? Does Jobber?

Neither company's pricing page says one way or the other, so we won't claim it for them. If you work in basements and crawlspaces, ask them before you buy. QuoteIron is local-first and works with no signal.

What is a flat-rate pricing app?

It's an app where each job has a set price you decide ahead of time, instead of an hourly estimate you rebuild every visit. In QuoteIron you set a labor rate, a materials markup and a service-call fee, and 1050+ job templates price themselves from those numbers. Jobber has a products and services list you fill in yourself, and Joist's pricing page doesn't mention a price book.

What app should I use when starting a handyman business?

If you work alone, start with an app that sends quotes and invoices and costs little. QuoteIron is free for 5 jobs a month, then $15.99 a month for unlimited jobs, with a ready-made price book, scheduling and reminders. Joist is the simple alternative: Basics is $10 a month for up to 5 documents. Jobber is built for crews and starts at $49 a month ($29 billed annually). We make QuoteIron, so try the free plan or trial of each on one real job before you pay.

Is Jobber worth it for a one-person business?

Only if you use what it is built for. Jobber's Core plan is $49 a month for one user ($29 billed annually), and automatic quote and invoice follow-ups start on Connect at $139 ($99 annual). If you run a crew, its dispatch, team scheduling and QuickBooks Online sync are why people pay for it. If you work alone and mostly quote and invoice, a cheaper app may cover you; QuoteIron, which we make, is free for 5 jobs a month and $15.99 for unlimited.

What's the cheapest quoting app for contractors?

Of the three we compared, QuoteIron is the cheapest to start: free for 5 jobs a month with no card, then $15.99 a month for unlimited. Joist Basics is $10 a month for up to 5 documents, and Joist Pro is $17. Jobber's cheapest plan is Core at $49 a month ($29 billed annually), and it has no free plan. Prices are from each company's pricing page, checked 3 October 2026. We haven't compared other apps, and we make QuoteIron.

Do I need invoicing software as a new electrician or plumber?

Not strictly, but it helps. A phone app turns a quote into an invoice in a few taps and shows who has paid. You can start free: QuoteIron covers 5 jobs a month at no cost, and Joist Basics is $10 a month for 5 documents. If customers want to pay by card, Jobber and QuoteIron charge 2.9% plus 30 cents per card payment and Joist charges 3.49% plus 49 cents.

Illustrations: QuoteIron. The photographs are AI-generated illustrations, not pictures of real customers or jobs.

RE-CHECKED OCTOBER 8, 2026

Prices re-checked, plus QuickBooks

Jobber on October 8, 2026: Core $49 month-to-month ($29 billed annually), Connect $139 ($99), Grow $199 ($149), unchanged. Joist, same day: Basics $10, Pro $17, Elite $32, Run $70 introductory, unchanged. QuickBooks Online sync: Jobber from Connect ($99/mo billed annually); Joist lists “Sync with QuickBooks” on its site; QuoteIron has no live QuickBooks sync.

Quote your next job free, with 5 a month on us.

No card needed. Pro is $15.99 a month, month-to-month, if you outgrow the free five.

$15.99/MO FLAT · MONTH-TO-MONTH · CANCEL IN THE APP STORE OR GOOGLE PLAY · EXPORT YOUR DATA ANYTIME

PricingGET THE APPFAQ